Jessica Fellowes
Author, journalist, public speaker


Jessica Fellowes is an author, journalist and public speaker. Her career began at the Mail on Sunday, where she was a celebrity interviewer, gossip columnist and lifestyle editor for some six years. From there, she went on to be Deputy Editor of Country Life magazine, during which time she wrote the magazine’s weekly “Town Mouse” column as well as a townie’s guide to country weekends for The London Paper. The latter formed the basis of her first book, ‘Mud & the City: Dos and Don’ts for Townies in the Country‘.

 

A spell as a freelance feature writer for a number of publications including The Daily Telegraph, Sunday Times Style, The Lady and Psychologies magazine followed before she turned to ghostwriting, starting with ‘Is There A Psycho In Your Life?‘, written with the forensic psychologist Kerry Daynes. Jessica also worked with the founders of notonthehighstreet.com on their book, ‘Build A Business From Your Kitchen Table‘, which went to no.1 of the Sunday Times Business bestseller list and the recently released follow-up Shape Up Your Business: The Founders of notonthehighstreet.com share their story in a 30-day success plan.

 

Jessica is best known for her work as author of four official companion books to a certain hit television show: The Wit and Wisdom of Downton Abbey (2015), A Year in the Life of Downton Abbey (2014), The Chronicles of Downton Abbey (2012) and The World of Downton Abbey (2011).  The first two hit the The Sunday Times, New York Times andThe Globe & Mail (Canada) bestseller lists. These books led to her being in demand as a speaker at events both in the UK and US, discussing the real-life inspirations for the show, both historical and characters from her family (Jessica is the niece of creator and scriptwriter Julian Fellowes). Her first novel, The Mitford Murders, will be released in the US in January 2018 by Minotaur Books.

 

Jessica talks before a wide variety of audiences – from small, private dinners of 25 to vast auditoriums of 2,500 people. In the USA, she has given talks for PBS stations, charitable foundations, universities and public libraries from New Jersey to Denver. Her talks are delivered with humor and she is always delighted to take questions from the audience. She has over 9,000 followers on Twitter. Jessica lives happily in Oxfordshire with her husband Simon, son George, stepchildren Louis and Beatrix, an energetic Labradoodle and two chickens. But she remains a Londoner at heart, the place where her high heels remain blissfully mud free.

Download Bio
Hardcover
Minotaur Books

It's 1920, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. But then a nurse—Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake—is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret. Based on an unsolved crime and written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the New York Times bestselling Downton Abbey companion books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Downton Abbey, and classic murder mysteries.

Hardcover
Downton Abbey - A CelebrationThe Official Companion to All Six Seasons
St. Martin's Press (November 2015)

This extraordinary book will feature in-depth interviews with the cast and crew who know the show's secrets, as well as a fascinating look at the changing styles and fashions of Downton and a complete episode guide to all six seasons up to the U.K. Christmas special.

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press (October 2015)

Jessica Fellowes has gathered together her favorite quotes from the complete Downton Abbey oeuvre to take each of us back to the most memorable moments from the show and ensure we are armed with the very best ripostes should we ever need to chastise an impertinent lady's maid.

Hardcover
A Year in the Life of Downton AbbeySeasonal Celebrations, Traditions, and Recipes
St. Martin's Press

This gorgeous book explores the seasonal events and celebrations of the great estate--including house parties, debutantes, the London Season, yearly trips to Scotland, the sporting season, and, of course, the cherished rituals of Christmas.

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press

This lavish book from Jessica Fellowes focuses on each character individually, examining their motivations, their actions, and the inspirations behind them.

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press

A lavish look at the real world--both the secret history and the behind-the-scenes drama--of the spellbinding Emmy Award-winning Masterpiece TV series Downton Abbey

A Year in the Life of Downton Abbey The talk to accompany the book with the same name, along with a Q&A. With clips from the show and a slideshow of the book’s gorgeous photography and design, Jessica talks about the house’s seasonal celebrations and traditions, as well as drawing deft parallels between the lives lived then and now.

Downton Abbey - A Celebration Jessica elaborates on her interviews with the cast and crew who know the show's secrets. Additionally, she takes a larger look at all six seasons and highlights the changing styles and fashions of Downton over that time span. This program features a costume change, images/clips from the show, question cards, and interactive elements with the audience.




Learn more about Jessica Fellowes on her website.

Jessica was a delight to work with and did a beautiful job with her presentation! Our clients absolutely loved the stories she told about the show’s creation and real-life inspiration for the characters. She signed books for over an hour and a half and was gracious to take photos with guests. Thank you so much!!!
-Wilmington Trust

I cannot thank you enough for what you did for our library- you delivered so very much more than we ever bargained for! You let me navigate you through the very crowded reception and could not have been more gracious with our guests. Your presentation to the crowd was both informative and amusing; you thoroughly charmed them. I have been bombarded today with emails and text messages telling me how “brilliant” we were for arranging to have you speak!
-Carmel Clay Public Library

We had a fantastic event with Jessica. She was entertaining and insightful, and the audience loved hearing her. We’ve received many compliments from audience members about what a wonderful evening it was. Many thanks for your help in arranging her visit—she was truly a delight!
-Dallas Museum of Art

Thanks so much for helping to bring Jessica Fellowes to Colorado for our event. It went incredibly well. We sold out (I had folks calling me begging for tickets) and Jessica was delightful. The perfect mix of history and dish. Everyone was so impressed with the entire event.
-Douglas County Libraries

We had a fantastic time with Jessica Fellowes! She is a wonderful speaker and our guests were incredibly pleased with the program. Her talk was the perfect length for our audience and she was very gracious in her answers to their questions. She also posed for many pictures. Personally, I found her to be very warm, easy-going, and a lot of fun to be around. Thank you for helping us make this program a success. I look forward to working with you again in the future.
–Peoria Public Library

It was nothing short of spectacular. Not an inch short. Fellowes was a delight from the moment she arrived to the moment I shipped her back to the UK. We sold out and there wasn’t a person there who didn’t absolutely love it.
– Loose Gravel Press

Thank you for being so very gracious with your time and attention. You brought remarkable insight to the Downton Abbey series. Numerous guests of the luncheon here and the Sea Island events have gone out of their way to express their appreciation to WJCT. Your visit served us well.
-WJCT Broadcasting

Jessica Fellowes was a great success and Downton Abbey fans filled our Great Hall—everyone from college students to older community members. The audience really enjoyed the extra details and insights she provided, and her wit and warmth as she answered questions, signed books, and posed for pictures. And the bookstore ran out of books! One of her graduate student hosts wrote: ‘I felt like I was meeting with an old friend that I have not seen in years—she was just that personable!! And her talk was funny!’ Thanks for helping make this happen. Everyone—and I do mean everyone—appreciated your hard work!
-Director, Lectures Program, Iowa State University