Gregg Hurwitz
New York Times and #1 International Bestselling Author


Gregg Hurwitz is the critically acclaimed, New York Times and internationally bestselling author of 15 novels, most recently, Orphan X. His books have been nominated for numerous awards, shortlisted twice for best novel of the year by International Thriller Writers, nominated for CWA’s Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, chosen as feature selections for all four major literary book clubs, honored as Book Sense Picks, nominated for the Galaxy National Book Award, and translated into 27 languages.

 

Gregg has written screenplays for or sold spec scripts to many of the major studios, and written, developed, and produced television for various networks. He is also a New York Times Bestselling comic book writer, having penned stories for Marvel (Wolverine, Punisher) and DC (Batman, Penguin). He has published numerous academic articles on Shakespeare, taught fiction writing in the USC English Department, and guest lectured for UCLA, and for Harvard in the United States and internationally. In the course of researching his thrillers, he has sneaked onto demolition ranges with Navy SEALs, swum with sharks in the Galápagos, and gone undercover into mind-control cults.

 

Hurwitz grew up in the Bay Area. While completing a BA from Harvard and a master’s from Trinity College, Oxford in Shakespearean tragedy, he wrote his first novel. He was the undergraduate scholar-athlete of the year at Harvard for his pole-vaulting exploits, and played college soccer in England, where he was a Knox fellow. He now lives in L.A. where he continues to play soccer, frequently injuring himself.

Download Bio
Paperback
Minotaur Books

Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He's also a man with a dangerous past. Chosen as a child, he was raised and trained as part of the off-the-books black box Orphan program, designed to create the perfect deniable intelligence assets---i.e. assassins. He was Orphan X. Evan broke with the program, using everything he learned to disappear. Now, however, someone is on his tail.

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press

Eve Hardaway, newly single mother of one, is on a trip she's long dreamed of―a rafting and hiking tour through the jungles and mountains of Oaxaca, in southern Mexico. Eve wanders off the trail, to a house in the distance with a menacing man in the yard beyond it. Now the man in the woods is after whoever was snooping around his house. With a violent past and deadly mission, he will do anything to avoid being discovered.

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Paperbacks

The one-time scion of an old-money San Francisco family, Daniel Brasher finds an envelope intended for someone else. Inside is an unsigned piece of paper, a handwritten note that says, “Admit what you’ve done or you will bleed for it.” The deadline in the note has already passed, and when Daniel looks into it, he finds that the person to whom the envelope was addressed was brutally murdered. But that’s just the beginning.

Hardcover
St. Martin's Press

Nate Overbay, a former soldier suffering from PTSD and ALS, goes to an eleventh-floor bank and climbs onto the ledge, ready to end it all. But as he's steeling himself to jump, a crew of when a gunmen bursts into the bank and begins shooting employees and customers. With nothing to lose, Nate climbs back inside and, with military precision, Nate begins taking out the robbers, one by one. The last man standing leaves Nate with a cryptic warning: He will make you pay in ways you can't imagine…

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Paperbacks

Mike Wingate had a rough childhood―-he was abandoned at a playground at four years old and raised in foster care. Now, as an adult, Mike is finally living the life he had always wanted – until Mike's past comes back to haunt him.

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Paperbacks

All Patrick Davis ever wanted to do was make movies. But after he gets his big break and sells his first screenplay, his life collapses. And just when it seems things couldn't be worse, the DVDs start coming in… ominous DVDs show that someone is watching Patrick and his wife. Then come the emails… Finally, someone confronts Patrick with an offer he can't refuse: To take the mess his life has become and make it all right. Patrick figures it's the offer of a lifetime. But he's dead wrong.

Mass Market Paperbound
St. Martin's Paperbakcs

Over the past two decades, Nick Horrigan has built a quiet, safe life for himself, living as much under the radar as possible. But all of that shatters when, in the middle of the night, a SWAT team bursts into his apartment and drags him out to a waiting helicopter. A terrorist has seized control of a nuclear reactor, threatening to blow it up. And the only person he'll talk to is Nick, promising to tell Nick the truth behind the events that shattered his life twenty years ago.

Research and the Intrepid Writer: New York Times bestselling thriller author, Gregg Hurwitz, is known for doing extensive and often dangerous research in the name of writing. From going under cover into a mind control cult to sneaking onto demolition ranges with Navy SEALS to trekking through the jungles of Oaxaca, he puts himself through what his characters will go through so readers can get the most authentic experience possible. Gregg will share his adventures and discuss how they make their way into his novels.
Shakespeare the Crime Writer With a background in Shakespearian tragedy, New York Times bestselling author Gregg Hurwitz is often asked how he came to thrillers. But in reality, Shakespeare was one of the first successful commercial writers, and Gregg borrows many of his writing tactics for his novels. Gregg will discuss the link between Shakespeare’s work and modern day crime novels, and how both influence his own writing.
The Art of Hard Work and Resilience New York Times bestselling thriller author, Gregg Hurwitz, is often asked about the secrets to his success. As an author of 15 novels, dozens of comics and screenplays, Hurwitz’s answer is still the same: work. There is no substitution for sitting in the chair and putting words on paper. Gregg will share stories from his path to publication and demonstrate the art of working hard and making your own luck.




Read the Associated Press review of Gregg Hurwitz’s newest novel The Nowhere Man in the Washington Post

Check out The Nowhere Man‘s inclusion in USA Today‘s Books: New and Noteworthy

Gregg sits down with the LA Times to discuss Orphan X, Batman, and plot twists.

The Huffington Post talks self discipline with Gregg and fitness icon Denise Austin.

Read more reviews of Orphan X from the Washington Post, and The Amazon Book Review.

Find out more about Gregg and follow him on Twitter.

Praise for The Nowhere Man "Hurwitz knows how to put the reader deep in the mind of his hero as the pace never lets up."
— Jeff Ayers, the Associated Press

"'The Nowhere Man' echoes not only of Jack Reacher, but also the TV and film hit "The Equalizer," as well as the work of David Morrell in classics like "Brotherhood of the Rose" that practically created the genre. Superb on all levels and a must-read for all thriller fans."
— Jon Land, Providence Journal

"Gregg Hurwitz isn’t just on the top of his game, he’s struck solid gold with The Nowhere Man, a hard-hitting, near-perfect thriller that starts fast and never lets up."
— The Real Book Spy

Praise for Orphan X “This isn't simply Hurwitz's 'best thriller yet' or 'a terrific new thriller'-Orphan X is an order-of-magnitude leap into stardom. It's the most exciting thriller I've read since The Bourne Identity. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak, and the deadly, secret world of the Orphan Program. A new thriller superstar is born!”
— Robert Crais

“What is Orphan X? A thrill-a-minute read with twists and turns galore. I'm looking forward to Evan Smoak's next adventure.”
— Phillip Margolin

“Orphan X is the most gripping, high-octane thriller I've read in a long, long time. Hang onto your seat because Gregg Hurwitz will take you on a dizzying ride you'll not soon forget!”
— Tess Gerritsen

“Gregg Hurwitz's Orphan X is his best yet -- a real celebration of all the strengths he brings to a thriller.”
— Lee Child

“From the explosive opening where a boy begins his dramatic transformation, Orphan X blows the doors off most thrillers I've read and catapults the readers on a cat-and-mouse chase that feels like a missile launch. Brilliantly conceived and plotted, his character Evan Smoak, Orphan X, deserves his own niche in the thriller hero hall of fame. Read this book. You will thank me later.”
— David Baldacci

Praise for The Survivor “Hurwitz can take a high-concept thriller and deliver the extras needed to elevate it further…[With] The Survivor, he outdoes himself.”
—Washington Post


“In between tight, compelling action scenes, Hurwitz sensitively depicts Nate’s struggles…thriller fans won’t let this one gather any dust on the nightstand.”
Publishers Weekly

“Hurwitz demonstrates his mastery of the thriller genre...The book opens as dramatically as a reader could hope for and doesn’t relent....succeeds on every level.”
Kirkus  Reviews (starred review)

“Surely Hurwitz can’t keep this up forever. Lately, each new book he publishes is his best so far, and this one’s no exception...It’s hard to imagine that he can top this one, but, based on past performance, don’t bet against it.”
Booklist (starred review)